My “Three-Minute” Testimony

my-story-church-powerpointI was thinking today, that we often have more opportunities to share the Gospel during the week that we think. The gospel is simply the “Good News” about what Jesus has done for humanity and in your own life.

There are several gospel presentations that require a short testimony (the story about Jesus and what he has done for you). I was encouraged recently to share my story with the people I care about the most, so I wrote down my “three-minute” testimony.

With this thought out, I can share about what Christ has done with anyone, anywhere, and anytime the opportunity arises. So, I thought I would also share it with you.

I come from a very faithful family. My parents were faithful people and always dragged me along with them to church. I grew up knowing all the answers to the spiritual questions that they would ask me. I thought that being a part of a religious group would be enough for me to go to heaven. I went to church 3 or more times a week, I mostly did right things, I obeyed my parents and others in authority–I thought I was doing the right things. The only problem was that I learned that while doing the right things is good it can never cancel out all the offenses, or sins, in my life. In fact the Bible, which is God’s word, teaches that “All of us are dirty with sin. All the right things we have done are like filthy pieces of cloth.” When I learned this I knew that no matter how good I was I would never be good enough to go to heaven.

When I found out about my good not being good enough, I started asking my parents, friends, and people I respected questions about how I could make my dirty life clean. They shared with me that “because all people have sinned, they have fallen short of God’s glory.” Since I have not been able to live up to the standard of God, God came to Earth as a human–Jesus. Romans 6:23 says, “The payment for sin is death. But God gives us the free gift of life forever in Christ Jesus our Lord.” The debt I owed for all my offenses was too great for me to pay on my own. But, Jesus lived a perfect life. When he died on the cross he took the punishment for the sins that I have committed. Since God won’t allow sinful people into heaven Jesus paid the price that I owed, which was death, so that He could give me what I didn’t deserve–eternal life. He removed all my offenses, gave me a clean slate, and a new heart that wanted to live for Him.

I won’t say that after I began to follow Jesus that I never messed up. But, I see the changes God has made in my life. He has given me peace, joy, hope, and direction. It has been great to grow closer to a God who loves me and cared enough about me to make a way to have a relationship with him.

I would love to hear your faith story, please share them in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

