Scripture Roulette & My Life Verse

Life Verse

When I was struggling with what God wanted me to do with my life (at age 16) I turned to His word for direction. I previously had used the method of “scripture roulette” to try and find the will of God for my life. You know what scripture roulette is, right? It is when you start flipping through your Bible, then you plant your finger on a page. Wherever your finger lands that is what God wants you to do. I just did this for fun to see what happened. My finger landed on

Mark 14:69: When the maidservant saw him again, she began to tell those standing nearby, “This man is one of them.”

Not really a great spiritual boost for me. When that happens we keep flipping and looking until we are satisfied with what we find. If we don’t like the word, we keep looking until we are happy. I doubt that God is satisfied/happy with our trying to hear from Him in this way.

Now, God has spoken to us in His word, and we should be looking there to hear His voice–but not through scripture roulette.

It was during a time in my life when I would read the Word of God in every spare moment of my time. Waiting for my mom to pick me up–read the word. Got done with classwork early–read the Word. Waiting for church to start–read the Word. Stuck in traffic–read the Word. I was reading the Word as much as I possibly could. I think I read through the New Testament 3-4 times in 6 months at that time in my life.

It was during this constant reading of the Word, that God spoke to me about the direction my life should take. I read 2 Timothy 4:17 which says, “But the Lord stood by me and strengthened me, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it.” When I read it the first time it didn’t hit me that hard, but it didn’t go away either. Over time it consumed my thoughts and continued to come back up, over and over again. I prayed, asked other believers, and talked to my pastor. Through that process it became crystal clear that God wanted me to go into vocational ministry.

How has God spoken to you through Scripture? What is your life verse? Share your story or your verse in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

