Good Gossip

Good Gossip

Have you ever heard of a good rumor? or good gossip? It is when you hear something about someone (or yourself) that is good and it usually encourages you to do something awesome. Believe it or not, this idea is in the Bible! Check it out…

“we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of the love that you have for all the saints.” Colossians 1:4

Paul had heard about the faith and love of the people in the church at Colossae before he even wrote the letter to them. In fact the overall tone of his letter is much more positive than his letter to the Galatians. Since they were living their lives for the glory of Christ, the rumors about their faith and love began to spread all over the place. So much so that Paul had hear about it from other people.

This verse has me reflecting on my own life. I asked myself this question after reading it, “Is how I am living, causing people to share positive gossip about me?” This is a very probing question, because at the root of it is not what I think makes me good, but rather how others view me. Now, there is a danger here in that you could be living your life in a way to be a people pleaser–I’m not talking about that. However, our lives should be a positive witness to those around us about who rules our lives–Jesus.

Ultimately, I don’t want people to say good things about me without my actions pointing them to Jesus. If I do it right, they will say these good things in connection with my relationship with Jesus. For instance, “You can tell that he is trying to live out the compassion of Christ in his life.” Which would be a far greater compliment than, “He is very kind.”

While both are nice, my purpose is to make Jesus famous, not myself.

What about you? Have you heard good gossip about other or yourself? Do you spread good gossip about others? Try to do that today! Share your story in the comments.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

