How to Prepare Your Heart For Worship Tomorrow

The Power of Love Valentine's Day Sermon PowerPoint.006Each Sunday before I arrive at Church I spend 5 minutes preparing myself for how God wants me to serve Him. I do this because my natural inclination as a human is to see Church with a “what’s in it for me” mentality.

The church isn’t there for me, it’s there to lift up the Greatness of God. We go to church to make God famous in our community and great in our lives. When our focus is on God and not ourselves then we do ‘get’ something–but it is the natural outflow of what a right perspective on God gives. [We also go to church to minister to one another: encourage, lift up, and share what God is doing in our lives.]

So, every week I spend 5 minutes preparing my heart for this important spiritual community activity.

What do I do?

  1. I spend 1 minute in prayer. I ask God to quiet my soul from the chaos of the week.
  2. I listen to a song.
  3. I pray again, turning the song into a prayer.

It is that simple, and that easy.

Here is a song to get you going today.

One Reply to “How to Prepare Your Heart For Worship Tomorrow”

Leave a Reply

