Wisdom From My Mother

cropped-ambassadors

When I was growing up I remember something that my mom used to tell me all the time. Now I find myself saying it to the students I teach. Whenever we would get our of the car she used to say,

Remember who you are, and who you represent.

Or something to that effect.

It was a reminder to me that she expected me to behave a certain way. When I was younger, I thought it meant that she would be embarrassed by my behavior if I was unruly. As I aged, I realized that that was only part of the equation.

The reality was that I belonged to Jesus. Since, as Paul puts it, I am his ambassador, I represent Christ everywhere I go. This means that people will get an idea of what Jesus is like by the way I act toward them. This realization brought a whole new side to what my mom used to say to me.

Sure, she didn’t want me to behave in an embarrassing way, but more importantly, she didn’t want me to be a bad representative of Jesus.

I will simply remind you today if you are a Christian: REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE, AND WHO YOU REPRESENT.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

