Bumper Sticker Theology

5984

I was recalling memories from days gone by. As I was thinking about my years at the university, I recalled walking into a “dollar store” and seeing a bumper sticker which said, “How much can I get away with and still go to Heaven?” At the time I chuckled a little and left the store with my purchase.

Over the years I have thought back to that bumper sticker–about how sad the idea that it supports. I am terrified that this is the measure that many people have about living this life. I believe that this low standard has crept into modern Christianity. Christians have lived their lives trying to do the least amount possible. The concept is that they are saved, but they are a little carnal/worldly. There are no such things carnal Christians! The Bible says we are following God or we are not. There is no middle ground. If you are living in the world–you are not following God. If you are following God–you are not following the world.

We must examine ourselves to find out where we truly stand in relationship to Jesus. Are we just professing Jesus with our lips and not our lives, or do we live our lives like Jesus wants? We cannot look at those around us to find out if we are living rightly–they may not be either! We must look at the Word of God!

The real question we must ask ourselves is not “How much can I get away with and still go to Heaven?” The better question is “How holy can I be and still live on earth.”

Our perfect holiness will be realized when we enter into heaven. As our holiness grows the closer we get to heaven. One day we will walk into heaven perfect!!!

Leave a Reply

